Want to know some vegan options at Sonic, You are not alone. Let us be your entourage in introducing you to the exotic vegan options in Sonic. Their menu comprises sandwiches, wraps, frozen drinks, sauces, pickles, fries, and what not! Besides, you can get your sandwich customized with preferred bread, sauces, and veggies.
The US has built up a massive number of junk-food outlets in the last few years. Some offer meat-based dishes, whereas some of them offer some vegan options. Well, Sonic Drive-In is another eatery outlet in the US that offers assorted food items you would want to try. SONIC is an American drive-in fast-food restaurant chain owned by Inspire Brands. They are known for their fast service and quick and delicious meals across the nation. In the US they have their food stores in around 46 states.
Does Sonic Have Vegan Options?
Customers cannot expect gazillions of vegan items from this fast-food establishment. But they can find a handful of vegan options in Sonic to choose from. Let's have a look at the list of vegan-friendly items Sonic has to offer.
Sonic Vegan Sides
SONIC does not provide a complete ingredient list of their menu on their website but we can have an idea of ingredients by looking at their allergen statement. According to that these sides are vegan at sonic and are fried in plant-based oil and not lard. These vegan sides are
- Onion Rings
- French Fries
- Tater Tots and Sweet Potato Tater Tots
Yes, you read it right, onion rings! Surprisingly, Sonic is perhaps the only fast food outlet selling vegan onion rings. According to some rumors, they may contain some dairy in their onion ring but this is not shown in their allergen guide.
The point to be noted is that SONIC uses the same fryer for frying the sides and meat products. So if you are concerned about cross-contamination of meat then these sides are not for you.
Vegan Bread Options at Sonic
Sonic offers a range of bread options to its customers. Their Brioche Bun, Biscuits, and Croissants are not vegan as they contain milk and egg all other bread options are vegan that are
- Hamburger bun
- Hot dog bun
- Philly Roll
- Soft Pretzel Twist
- Ciabatta Bun
- Poppy Seed Bun
- Texas Toast
Some bread products may have traces of milk or egg but are not added as an ingredient in the bread.
According to SONIC certain fresh bread products may have different ingredients because Drive-Ins purchase from local bakeries whose ingredients and allergens may vary. So it's better to ask for ingredients before ordering.
Vegan Dips and Sauces at Sonic
A long list of sauces available at sonic are vegan .These are
- Spicy Mustard
- Hickory BBQ Sauce
- Sweet and Sour Sauce
- Grape Jelly, Marinara
- Salsa de Sonic
- Strawberry Jam
- Sweet and Sour Sauce
- Sweet Relish
- Maple Flavored Syrup
The Buffalo Sauce, Mayonnaise, Ranch, Tartar Sauce, and Signature Sauce contain egg.
Are Sonic Slushies Vegan?
Kids and adults flock in great numbers to enjoy frozen drinks at Sonic. You will be happy to know that all slush bases at Sonic are vegan-friendly. Just choose from vegan syrup flavors and enjoy the frozen drinks.
- Lemonade Slush
- Limeade Slush
- Plain Slush Base (Add flavor from syrup options)
Vegan Flavor Syrups
Most of the syrup flavors are vegan just avoid the candy slush flavors which contain nerds or milk-based candies like M&Ms. leave the caramel, cookie, cake, and chocolate flavors too. You can slurp slush in flavors of
- Blue Coconut
- Blue Raspberry
- Diet Cherry
- French Vanilla
Other Drinks That are Vegan at Sonic
The vegan drinks at Sonic will surely refresh your mind. Besides, no allergenic component is reported to be present in these. The list is never-ending. Quench your thirst with
- Barq’s Root Beer
- Coca-Cola Zero Sugar
- Diet Coke
- Diet Dr. Pepper
- Dr. Pepper
- Fanta Orange
- Fresh Brewed Sweet Tea
- Fresh Brewed Unsweet Tea
- Green Mountain Coffee Roasters’ Hot Coffee
- Green Tea (Diet)
- Green Tea (Sweet)
- Hi-C Fruit Punch
- Mello Yello
- Minute Maid Apple Juice Box
- Minute Maid Orange Juice
- Sonic Wave Bottled Water
- Sprite Zero
Other Vegan Options at Sonic
- Apple Slices (no caramel sauce)
- Apple Sauce Packet
- Frito’s Corn Chips
- Oreo cookie pieces
All the listed items are entirely vegan as per their allergen statement. All the sides at Sonic are fried in vegetable oil and they do not use any animal lard.
Customize Your Own Vegan Sandwich
The eatery has come up with a "build-your-own sandwich" concept. Here you can ask the Sonic staff to customize your sandwich, burgers, wraps, or any bread items the way you prefer it. Choose a bread option from vegan breads available at sonic and choose your favorite topping from the list mentioned below.
- Sport Peppers
- Diced Onions
- Sweet Pickle Relish
- Hatch Green Chilies
- Dill Pickle Chips and Spears
- Grilled Bell Peppers
- Grilled onions
Aren’t you feeling hungry?
Your sandwich is almost ready. You just need some condiments to make it all the more mouthwatering. Choose from a variety of vegan dips and sauces to add to your vegan sandwich.
Lastly, Check out some Frequently Asked Questions about SONIC Vegan friendly Options.
Are Sonic Buns Dairy-Free?
The hamburgers and hotdog buns they serve are mostly vegan and dairy-free. Hence, you can generally expect vegan bread at Sonic. But the bread ingredients may vary from place to place as they source their bread products from local bakeries. However, some of their buns may contain milk and eggs.
Are Sonic Fries Vegan?
Yes! Sonic fries are absolutely vegan. French fries and other delicacies are fried in vegetable oil instead of any lard.
However, there is scope for being finicky owing to the cooking methods. In some locations, the vegan items may be fried in the same oil as dairy products and meats.
Are Sonic's French Toast Sticks Vegan?
Sonic French toast sticks are not vegan. These delicacies contain milk. Besides, these have allergenic components such as gluten, wheat, and soy. However delicious a piece of French toast may look, avoid having it if you are allergic to any of the ingredients.
Do Sonic Pretzels Have Dairy?
This twisted soft delicacy is completely vegan. But, most of the time it is accompanied by a cheese dip. You should substitute it with a vegan condiment to avoid dairy consumption. Besides, the Sonic allergen guide does not include milk as an allergen component of pretzels. But, sometimes, these can have milk with a change in the supplier.
Do Sonic Tater Tots Have Dairy?
Tater tots are one of the best Vegan options in Sonic. Dip it with any sauces from Sonic and savor every bite of this tasty delight. Tots do not contain any dairy products and are purely vegan.
Note: Sonic prepares their tarter tots in the same fryer they fry meat and by-products. You can avoid it, in case you're bothered about cross-contamination.
Does Sonic Have Salads?
Yes! Sonic Salads are a lighter and healthier substitute for other snacks. But, these do not fall under vegan options in Sonic. Sonic has an exciting line of 3 salads, which are completely non-vegan and contain chicken. The signature salads at Sonic Drive-In are grilled chicken salad, jumbo popcorn chicken salad and Santa Fe grilled chicken salad. Unfortunately, they haven't come along with any vegan salads yet.
Is Sonic Cinnasnacks Vegan?
Sonic allergen statement clearly stated that the Cinnasnacks they serve are not vegan as milk and eggs goes into making this food item. Besides, Sonic uses soy, wheat, gluten, including tree nuts, to make Cinnasnacks, which are allergens for many people.
The Vegan options in Sonic are limited. You cannot expect a huge meal but you can consider the eatery outlet to enjoy their signature sides like onion rings, tater tots with some tempting sauces, or dips, including slushes, and get a little refreshment. Their vegan options are worth trying!
Leave a Reply